

2011 Assembly Joint Resolution 76

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending the Department of Natural Resources–Division of Forestry and their emergency response personnel.

Whereas, Wisconsin's north woods frequently experienced large wildfires in the mid to late 1800's, destroying half a million acres of forest land annually as a consequence of extensive logging and settlers' reliance on wood for fuel and heating needs; and

Whereas, Wisconsin began enacting comprehensive forestry laws in 1903 to protect the state's forests and ensure the safety of settlers by establishing a state board of forestry, starting a state forest system, hiring a forester, employing wardens, building a tree nursery, and creating fire control programs; and

Whereas, Wisconsin quickly became a leader in forest protection and management and fire response and control thus reducing the amount of forest acreage lost each year to fire by using airplanes to fight local fires, installing the largest state–wide telephone network at that time, and developing the Wisconsin fire plow; and

Whereas, the Division of Forestry in the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources now protects not only our forests, but also assists with disaster relief, aids in search and rescue missions, and offers their services and heavy equipment to other states, including Texas, Montana, Minnesota, and Georgia in 2011; and

Whereas, the Division of Forestry remains steadfast in its mission to protect life, property, and our state's most valued natural resource, forests, by continually improving its fire suppression equipment, incorporating state of the art telecommunication systems, educating the public about fire prevention, and training staff on modern fire fighting techniques; now, therefore, be it **Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That** the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend the Department of Natural Resources–Division of Forestry and their emergency response personnel for their dedication to protecting the forests of Wisconsin and their commitment to preserving this treasured resource for future generations.

Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate Representative Jeff Fitzgerald Speaker of the Assembly

Date

Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk