

2017 Senate Joint Resolution 40

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** congratulating the Stevens Point Area Senior High boys varsity basketball team for winning the 2017 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Division I State Championship title.

Whereas, the Stevens Point Area Senior High boys basketball team defeated Arrowhead High School 85–56 in the Division I State Championship game; and

Whereas, by winning the 2017 WIAA Division I State Championship with a score of 85 to 56, the Panthers earned their third-consecutive WIAA Division I title, and their sixth state championship in school history; and

Whereas, the Stevens Point Area Senior High boys basketball team, led by their three co-captains, Joey Hauser, Drew Blair, and Beau Rosenthal, demonstrated outstanding athletic performances and displayed a high caliber of sportsmanship throughout the 2016–17 season; and

Whereas, co-captains Joey Hauser, Drew Blair, and Beau Rosenthal led the team, joined by exceptional teammates Keon'te Williams, Spencer Tyson, Sam Simmons, Andrew Erdman, Drew Cullen, Brennan Mueller, Logan Lewis, Max Hofmeister, Brett Ehr, Michael Vitt, and Tom Hatton; and

Whereas, Joey Hauser led the Panthers with 33 points and 21 rebounds, was awarded Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) first team All–State, first Team All–Conference, and Conference Player of the Year, was named to first team in the Associated Press All–State Boys Basketball Team, and averaged 24 points, 11 rebounds, and 4 assists per game; and

Whereas, Drew Blair was also awarded WBCA first team All-State, first Team All-Conference, and Conference Player of the Year and averaged 19 points, 4 rebounds, and 2 assists per game; and

Whereas, Beau Rosenthal was awarded Honorable Mention All-Conference and averaged 12 points, 3 rebounds, and 4 assists per game; and

Whereas, the team was managed by a talented coaching staff, led by head coach Scott Anderson and assistant coaches Kraig Terpstra, Dave Hauser, Jon Krull, Bruce Weinkauf, Travis Kornowski, Brandon Desmet, and Phil Jagielo; and

Whereas, seniors Beau Rosenthal and Keon'te Williams will be continuing their academic careers at Lakeland University of Wisconsin, Spencer Tyson will be continuing his academic career at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee, and Logan Lewis will be continuing his academic career at the University of Wisconsin–Parkside; and

Whereas, the entire community of Stevens Point takes pride in the integrity the team has shown in its accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the members of the Wisconsin Legislature commend the Panthers, their coaching staff, and their student athletes on winning the 2017 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Division I State Championship title and wish continued success to the student athletes in their future endeavors.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Roger Roth President of the Senate
Date	Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk